New Year, New(ish) Goals

I don’t really do any big, serious resolutions each year, but here are some video game related goals for 2022:

Play more in browser/twine games

I wanted to do a “best in browser game” category for my game of the year awards this year, but hadn’t played enough to get to where I felt I could really judge that. I want 2022 to be different. There are so many cool and experimental things out there that I really feel like I’m missing something from the games I played this year. Let me know if you have any recommendations.

Learn how to make a very small game

Whether it’s in pico-8, RPG Maker, Godot, or Twine, I want to make something this year. It’ll be small, and free if I can figure out how to share it in the first place, but it’ll be something.

Talk to more people about games

Or in general (I’m not very social lol). Games are usually a pretty insular thing for me. I think about them a lot, and I’ll seek out other people’s opinions on them, but usually in the form of articles that I read and then think about, without ever interacting in any way. I want to expand that. I guess starting this blog was the a good first step.

This isn’t directly video game related but: Learn a bit more html

I’d like to be able to customize my blog a bit more, maybe lean into that early 2000s web forum aesthetic, and I’m going to have to figure out how to make that happen.